FANDOM


Johnny(MidnightExpress){| align="center" style="border-collapse:collapse;border-spacing:0px;font-size:inherit;"

| style="margin:0px;padding:0px;"|[1] | style="margin:0px;padding:0px;"|[2] | style="margin:0px;padding:0px;"| |} [3] 

[4]

Axis and Allies 1942 Second Edition - 1939 Variant Setup

Soviet Union - Starting Income $24 Russia: 1 artillery, 1 tank, 1 AAA, 1 fighter, 1 industrial complex Karelia SSR: 3 infantry, 1 fighter, 1 industrial complex Caucasus: 2 infantry, 1 AAA, 1 industrial complex Buryatia SSR: 1 infantry Soviet Far East: 1 infantry West Russia: 1 infantry Belorussia: 3 infantry, 1 fighter Ukraine SSR: 2 infantry, 1 fighter Sea zone 4: 1 submarine USSR controls Archangel, Vologda, Novosibersk, Kazakh SSR, Yakut SSR, Evenki National Okrug. 

Germany - Starting Income $18 Germany: 10 infantry, 3 artillery, 4 tanks, 1 AAA, 3 fighters, 1 bomber, 1 industrial complex Italy: 2 infantry, 1 artillery, 1 tank, 1 AAA, 1 fighter, 1 industrial complex Bulgaria-Romania: 2 infantry Finland: 1 infantry Libya: 1 infantry Sea Zone 5: 1 cruiser, 1 transport, 1 submarine Sea Zone 15: 1 battleship, 1 transport Germany controls Italian East Africa. 

United Kingdom - Starting Income $28 United Kingdom: 3 infantry, 1 AAA, 1 fighter, 1 bomber, 1 industrial complex Egypt: 1 infantry India: 1 infantry, 1 AAA, 1 industrial complex Eastern Australia: 1 infantry Union of South Africa: 1 infantry Sea Zone 7: 1 battleship, 1 carrier + 1 fighter, 2 cruisers, 1 destroyer, 1 transport Sea Zone 10: 1 transport Sea Zone 18: 1 cruiser Sea Zone 35: 1 transport Sea Zone 39: 1 transport United Kingdom controls Iceland, Eastern Canada, Gibraltar, Anglo-Egyptian Sudan, Belgian Congo, Rhodesia, Union of South Arica, Trans-Jordan, Burma, Malaya, Western Australia, New Zealand, New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and Western Canada. 

France - Starting Income $13 France: 8 infantry, 1 artillery, 1 tank, 1 AAA, 1 fighter Algeria: 1 infantry Sea Zone 8: 1 destroyer Sea Zone 14: 1 cruiser, 1 transport Sea Zone 36: 1 submarine France controls Morocco, French West Africa, French Equatorial Africa, French Madagascar, and French Indochina-Thailand. 

Japan - Starting Income $11 Japan: 8 infantry, 1 artillery, 1 AAA, 1 fighter, 1 industrial complex Manchuria: 6 infantry, 1 artillery Formosa: 1 infantry Okinawa: 1 infantry Iwo Jima: 1 infantry Caroline Islands: 1 infantry Sea Zone 60: 1 battleship, 1 carrier + 1 fighter, 1 cruiser, 1 destroyer, 1 transport, 1 submarine Sea Zone 61: 1 battleship, 1 destroyer, 1 transport, 1 submarine

China - Starting Income $8 Anhwei: 2 infantry Kiangsu: 1 infantry Kwangtung: 1 infantry Yunnan: 1 infantry Szechwan: 1 infantry China controls Singkiang. 

United States - Starting Income $36 Eastern United States: 1 infantry, 1 artillery, 1 AAA, 1 industrial complex Western United States: 1 AAA, 1 industrial complex Philippine Islands: 1 infantry Sea Zone 11: 1 carrier + 1 fighter, 4 destroyers, 1 transport Sea Zone 48 1 destroyer, 1 transport Sea Zone 53: 1 battleship, 1 destroyer, 1 submarine Sea Zone 56: 1 cruiser, 2 destroyers, 1 transport The United States controls Central United States, Alaska, Greenland, Midway, Hawaiian Islands, Wake Island, Central America, and West Indies. 

Neutral territories are Afghanistan, Angola, Baltic States, Borneo, Brazil, Central America, Colombia-Ecuador, East Indies, East Mexico, Eire, Himalaya, Mexico, Mozambique, Northwestern Europe, Norway, Persia, Peru-Argentina, Poland, Sahara, Saudi Arabia, Southern Europe, Spain-Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Venezuela, West Indies.

Order of Play: Soviet Union Germany United Kingdom France Japan China  United States

Special rules for A&A 1942 Second Edition: 1939

Soviet Union The Soviet Union begins the game at war with no one. The Soviet Union may not declare war on any Axis power before its fourth turn unless an Axis power declares war on it first. However, if London is captured by an Axis power, the Soviet Union may declare war on its following turn.

The Soviet Union is weak but can come in on either side, and may conquer up to one neutral territory per turn at no cost. Prior to choosing a side they may be attacked by either the Axis or the Allies. If the Soviet Union chooses a side and joins the war they may not attack or be attacked by that side for the rest of the game. 

The Soviet Union has entered into a non-aggression treaty with Japan. If Japan attacks a Soviet territory, the Soviet player may place four infantry for free in that territory before resolving combat. If the Soviet Union attacks Japan first they lose this advantage. 

Germany At the beginning of the game, Germany is at war with France and the United Kingdom. Germany may declare war on the United States or the Soviet Union at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of any of its turns. A state of war between Germany and the Soviet Union will not affect relations between Germany and the United States, and vice versa.

United Kingdom The United Kingdom is at war with Germany. The United Kingdom is free to declare war on Japan at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of any of its turns. When not at war with Japan, in addition to the normal restrictions, the United Kingdom may not move units into or through China.

France France is at war with Germany. All French units, after the fall of France, will continue to be controlled by the player that was selected to control France (US or UK). After France's capital has been captured by Germany, French territories are treated in the same way as any Allied territories whose capital is held by an enemy power. 

France and its units are controlled by one of the Allied players, but for game purposes it is considered a separate power and its resources cannot be mixed with those of other Allied powers. French territories on the game board are France, Morocco, Algeria, French West Africa, French Equatorial Africa, Madagascar, and French Indochina-Thailand. 

Unlike most of the other powers in the game, France is an industrialized nation with no industrial complex. France does have a capital like other powers do. If the territory of France is captured by the Axis, France gives its unspent IPCs to the Axis. 

France may spend IPCs only to purchase infantry units and does not use industrial complexes. New French infantry units can be mobilized on any French territory that is controlled by France, including those captured in the current turn. If an Axis industrial complex is built on a French territory and that territory is later recaptured by the French or liberated by another Allied power, France may use the industrial complex to produce new units.

Japan At the beginning of the game, Japan is at war only with China. Japan may not end the movement of its sea units within 1 sea zone of the United States' mainland territories (Western United States and Alaska). Japan may declare war on any or all Allied powers at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of any of its turns. A declaration of war by Japan against the United Kingdom will immediately result in a state of war between Japan and the United States. Japan may attack French territories at any time, requiring no declaration of war against any Allied power before doing so.

China China is at war with Japan. China and its units are controlled by one of the Allied players, but for game purposes it is considered a separate power and its resources cannot be mixed with those of other Allied powers. Chinese territories on the game board are Manchuria, Anwhei, Kiangsu, Kwangtung, Yunnan, Sinkiang, and Szechwan. Some of these territories begin the game already under Japanese control. They still are considered Chinese territories for purposes of original ownership.

Unlike the other powers in the game, China is not an industrialized nation and has a rural economy and decentralized government. As a result, China does not have a capital like other powers do. If all Chinese territories are captured by the Axis, China retains its unspent IPCs in hope of liberation and does not give them to the Axis. 

In addition, China may spend IPCs only to purchase infantry units and does not use industrial complexes. New Chinese units can be mobilized on any Chinese territory that is controlled by China, including those captured in the current turn. If an Axis industrial complex is built on a Chinese territory and that territory is later recaptured by the Chinese or liberated by another Allied power, the industrial complex is removed from the game.

Chinese units can be moved only into Chinese territories (Sinkiang, Kiangsu, Kwangtung, Anhwei, Yunnan, Szechwan). However, Manchuria and Burma are special cases. Although they do not begin the game as Chinese territories, Chinese forces can move into them. These are the only non-Chinese territories that Chinese units can occupy. Chinese units cannot be loaded onto transports.

United States The United States begins the game neutral. The United States may end the movement of its sea units only in sea zones that are adjacent to US territories, with one exception: US warships (not transports) may also conduct long-range patrols into sea zone 10.

The United States may not declare war on any Germany unless an Germany either declares war on it first or captures London or any territory in North America, after which it may declare war on Germany on its following turn. 

The United States may not declare war on Japan unless Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom. However, if the United States is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase. 

The United States can take control of neutral territories by paying a $3 penalty for violating neutrality. The United States player may place their national control marker on the space and collect income if the territory has an IPC value. The United States player does not have to place units in the neutral territory to take control of the space.

Powers Not at War with One Another Movement: Powers not at war with one another can occupy the same sea zones. Combat: If a power at war attacks a sea zone containing units belonging to both a power with which it's already at war and a power with which it's not at war, the latter power's units are ignored. Those units won't participate in the battle in any way, and a state of war with that power will not result.

Axis powers may attack any neutral territory with an IPC value or any sea zone without penalty. This includes Allied and Soviet territories and sea zones (this would result in a declaration of war).