Axis & Allies Wiki

An expansion pack for AAC, published by TMI created by Ralph Boerke. It contains extensive rules for Geopolitics, Weather & Supply, using card play. It also has optional rules (reproduced below) that could be used for a stand-alone game and a South East Pacific Expansion map/rules.

Generals of Waterloo

Optional NewRules

1. USSR - No trespassing by UK or USA forces. The UK and USA can not station troops on any original USSR territory unless the USSR's capitol is in Axis control. Aircraft can use Soviet territory as a landing zone when calculating range. However any units flown or landed in the USSR are lost. They are interned for the duration. The USA or UK can attack Axis positions in the USSR (original territories) but after the battle all remaining US or UK forces are removed and Axis markers are removed ifthe territory was won back. USSR under Axis control: If Russia is under German or Japanese control, any UK or USA controlled territories become part of their respective empires. I.e. USA controls Karelia SSR then it receives 3 IPCs from Karelia and a USA marker is placed there. When the USSR is liberated all foreign forces are prohibited from entering Soviet territory, but they can exit these territories and. can attack enemy forces that occupy Soviet territory. These forces will then be removed after combat.

1.1 Economic Penalties This version of the Soviet rule does not stop Allied forces from landing in the USSR or occupying USSR Territory. What this rule does is stop the USSR from collecting !PCs from these territories. The reasoning behind this is the cost of feeding and caring for the foreign forces and also the cost of countering the anti­-communist political movements that these forces would introduce to the Soviet populace. The Capital: The UK or USA can land forces in Russia but then the USSR will only receive 4 IPCs for the territory instead of the 8 IPCs that it is worth.

2. The Straits Originally we only have the Suez and Panama Canals. They work by allowing vessels of an alliance to pass through a canal only if that alliance controls the canal. Control is gained by controlling or occupying the canal territory (Panama) or both sides ofthe canal (Anglo Egypt Sudan and Syria-Iraq). Straits differ from canals in that they still allow sea movement, but do not allow land movement.

2.1 Norway-Finland and Western Europe: The Kattegat and Skaggerak. These straits act the same as the Suez canal and ships can only enter or leave the Baltic Sea. If both territories are controlled. However there is no land movement allowed over the straits between Finland-Norway and Western Europe. There is no limit to a ship's range if it is allowed to travel through the straits.

2.1.1 Note: Kiel Kana!. This is a variant to the Kattegat rule. Germany actually had a canal that linked the Baltic to the North Sea through northern Germany. With this variant Germany can still move ships from the Baltic to the Atlantic as long as it controls Western Europe. Allied ships still need to control Western Europe and Finland-Norway. Only Germany can use the Kiel Kana!.

2.2 Turkish Straits. The Bosphorus and Dardanelles. Again both sides (Eastern Europe and Turkey) of the straits must be controlled for access to or from the Black Sea. However since Turkey is Neutral its neutrality can be violated by paying 3 IPCs to buy temporary control of the Turkish side ofthe strait. Control of Eastern Europe is also required.

2.3 Straits of Malacca. Between French Indochina-Burma and East Indies. These straits only effect the French Indochina-Burma Sea Zone. If both territories are Japanese then Axis ships can-travel normally-through thisSea Zone. However-Allied ships must stop in-these straits-no matter how much movement range-they have remaining. If both territories are in Allied hands then the Allies have control and can travel normally and Axis ships are slowed. If the Axis own one side and the Allies the other then both sides have limited movement and all ships must stop movement while in the French Indochina-Burma Sea Zone.

2.4 Strait of Gibraltor. Between Gibraltor and Algeria. This is similar to the Malaccan Straits in that movement is limited and ships must stop in the Gibraltor Sea Zone unless both sides ofthe straits are controlled. Ownership of Spain does not alter control of the Straits!

3. German Submarine Pens In order make the use of Uboats an integral part of the game the use of German Subpens is allowed. The territory of Germany has a built in Sub Pen. The Sub Pen works by giving shelter from air attack to Subs in the Baltic Sea Zone. If enemy aircraft attack Submarines in the Baltic they have one shot and then any survivng subs can withdraw into the Sub Pen (done by moving subs onto the land territory of Germany). Subs are moved back into the Baltic after the air attack. Sub Pens also lower the cost of German Uboats from 8 IPCs to 6 IPCs. Germany can not build Uboats in the Mediterranean, these are normal Subs at 8 IPCs. Though any Axis subs in the Baltic can make use of the German Subpen. Sub Pens do not protect a sub from naval attack (i.e. ships attack the Subs). However if a combined naval/air attack turns into a purely air attack the subs can withdraw to their pens.

4. Paratroopers Paratroopers are airborne Infantry. At no cost Bombers can pick up and drop Infantry as Paratroopers. Bombers travel their normal range but can not drop any bombs on the first round. They return to regular bombers on the second round. Paratroopers get a surprise advantage and attack at 2 instead of 1 for the first round only. One Bomber can pick up and drop one Infantry. The Bomber and the Infantry must both start in the same territory. Bombers can also be used to Airlift Infantry. An Airlift is similar to the Paratroop drop but Infantry and Bomber do not have to start in the same territory. The Bomber does not have to remain in the territory where it dropped off the Infantry but it can if it wants to. Heavy Bombers can be used to carry 2 Infantry (for Combat and Non-Combat Movement).

5. Merchant Marine The Merchant Marine rule represents the use ofa nation's merchant, private and fishing fleets for military objectives. Just as many non-naval ships were used in the evacuation of Dunkirk and in many other operations in W.W.II they can be used in Axis&Allies. The Merchant Marine is used by paying for the use of a fleet. This fleet can only be used for Non-Combat Movement and can only be used in one Sea Zone. (Even the Caspian Sea!) The cost of 4 IPCs allows one Infantry to be transported across a Sea Zone. There is no limit to the number of Infantry shipped in one turn so long as the IPCs (4,8,12, .. ) are spent. This is a Non-Combat Movment and as such the player must have IPCs in his bank in order to use the Merchant Marine. 6 Coastal Battery, Anti-Tank Artillery, Rocketry All of these make use of the AA Gun. BUT ONLY ONE AA GUN CAN BE USED TO DO ONE FUNCTION PER TURN! Example: The German player can use his AA Gun in Western Europe as a Coastal Battery when attacked by the UK, as an Anti-Tank Gun when attacked by the USA, as an Anti-Aircraft Gun when attacked by the USSR, and as a Rocket during the German turn.

6_1 Coastal Battery A Coastal Battery was originally thought up because ofthe classic WWII movie: The Guns of Navaronne .. Historically this represents things like the Atlantic Wall that Germany set up to repel an Allied invasion. Coastal Batteries are used similary as AA Guns with restrictions. Only one Ship entering a Sea Zone during a Combat Movement can be shot at. Ships built and placed in a Sea Zone and those entering during the Non-Combat Movement phase are not shot at. As well ships exiting a Sea Zone during a Combat Movement are not shot at. The defensive player chooses one ship in a fleet and fires its gun at it. On a roll of I the ship is sunk and any cargo on it is lost. Aircraft on Aircraft Carriers can not be targetted and are considered in flight when moving through a Sea Zone. If the Aircraft fly over the territory they are not shot at either as the AA Gun us being used as a Coastal Battery. Only one Sea Zone can be fired on per defensive round. The Sea Zone must be adjacent to the AA Gun's Territory.

During Amphibious Assaults the AA Gun can fire at each Transport as well as its first shot at the fleet, but only if the Amphibious Assault is directed at the Territory with the Coastal Battery.

6.2 Anti Tank Artillery Germany had made use of its AA guns in W.W.II to shoot at Allied Armour. This rule will also allow AA Guns to be used as Anti-Tank Artillery (AT Gun). The AT Guns behave exactly as the AA Guns do except that the targets are Armour, So if an enemy attacks a territory with an AA Gun on it the defender can choose to convert the AA Gun into an AT Gun. Instead of getting one shot at each attacking aircraft it gets one shot at each attacking Armour. Again the AA Gun can only be used for one function.

6.3 Advanced Rockets Ifa nation has Rocket technology it can use one of its AA Guns as a rocket to be used against enemy units (or an enemy Factory) within a range of3. On a roll of a I the unit is lost. However the enemy decides which unit is lost. This unit does not get to return fire. The Rocket is used in attacks only and can be moved.

6.4 Multiple AA Guns This rule allows multiple AA Guns on one territory but each AA Gun can only do one function: one is used as an AA Gun, one as an AT Gun, one as a Coastal Battery (a fourth does nothing).

7 Neutrals This rule gives neutrals a worth in IPCs. The cost for violating Neutrality is still 3 IPes but an additional cost is added. This is either in the form of IPCs or in military combat. Only one of the economic or military option is used not both.

7.1. Neutrals- Economic Worth. Neutral Worth in IPCs Invasion Cost (IPCs) Violating Neutrality Cost

 (Non Military Option)   (IPCs)

Venezuela-Columbia 2 8 3

Peru 2 8 3 Argentina-Chile 2 8 3 Eire 2 8 3 Spain 4 16 3 Sweden 5 20 • 3 Turkey 4 16 3 Saudi.Arabia 2 10 3 Angola I 5 3 Mozambique I 5 3 Rio de Oro I 4 3 Switzerland 2 20 3 Afghanistan I 7 3 Mongolia I 5 3

7.2. Neutrals - Military Strength

When a Neutral is attacked it responds with the units under its control and a player from the opposite alliance rolls for the neutral. lf the attack succeeds then the neutral becomes part of the aggressors empire. However if the attack fails the Neutral becomes a part of the enemy Alliance (the next power to play the enemy Alliance) and it is restocked with the original number of units (no matter how many were hit in the battle).

Neutral Infantry Armour Fighters Venezuela-Columbia 2 Peru 2 Argentina-Chile 2 Eire I Spain 5 I Sweden 5 2 2 Turkey 4 2 Saudi.Arabia 2 Angola 1 Mozambique 1 Rio de Oro I Switzerland 6 2 Afghanistan 4 Mongolia 3 Colonies: Attacking Spain will automatically bring Rio de Oro, Angola, and Mozambique on side against the attacker. Rio de Oro is a Spanish colony while Angola and Mozambique are Portuguese (included with Spain).