FANDOM


Combined Rules for A&A Europe and A&A Pacific AAE and AAP: Linked Game Rules

May 15, 2001

VICTORY CONDITIONS

There are three powers involved in the game: Germany, Japan, and the Allies. Each power is playing for victory on its own. If Germany and Japan defeat the Allies, then they share the win. In other words, either Axis player can win on their own. They are not truly partners.


SETUP

Place the two boards on the table, with the Pacific board on the right. In between the Pacific and Europe board, place the interboard strip that contains parts of the Middle East, USSR, and South Africa. On one side of the US or the other (doesn’t matter), place the other interboard strip, which contains the central part of North America, the Panama canal, and South America.

On the Pacific board, place 2 Russian infantry and one artillery on the Soviet Union space. Place 1 infantry unit in CCCP East and 1 infantry unit in CCCP West.

TURN ORDER

Germany USSR Japan UK USA

MONEY

Money for the US and the UK is handled differently, giving the player a limited chance to reallocate funds from theatre to theatre. All ‘base money’ (money located in territories) is fixed and may not be reallocated. In other words, the US Europe board always gets 30 IPCs dedicated to Europe and the US Pacific Board always has 60 IPCs dedicated to the Pacific. Similarly, India always has 15, Australia 20, and England itself 9. This is true even after there is victory in one theatre.

However, the convoy IPCs for each of these countries is pooled and becomes a slush fund that works exactly like the British money in AAP. America has a 25 IPC fund between the two boards. This 25 IPCs may be split up as needed both at the start of the game and at the end of every American turn. UK has a 28 IPC fund. This 28 IPCs may be split up as needed both at the start of the game and at the end of every British turn. It is split between UK, India, and Australia.

MOVING BETWEEN BOARDS

Pieces may move in between the two boards using normal movement, with the following exceptions:

Aircraft moving between boards must land on an inter-board space and then take off from that space during the next turn. Normal rules apply for owning a territory from the start of the turn. Aircraft cannot attack units on a different board than they start in. They may attack either board if starting on the interboard or attack an interboard territory from either board. Powers may only move through the Panama canal if Panama itself has been under friendly control since the start of the turn. The Panama Canal sz is one sea zone. Powers may only move through the Suez canal if Egypt has been under friendly control since the start of the turn. Egypt may be amphibiously attacked from the Red Sea. The Soviet Union and Japan are not at war unless Japan attacks Russian territory.

ENDGAME

There are specific things that happen when there is victory in one theatre (one game). But the following two rules apply to either board, no matter who won:

Only the victor keeps the ""Combat Movement"" phase on the board where he won. He may use this phase to move into or out of combat situations. This does not necessarily lead to combat (see below). The defeated side does not get a Combat Movement phase in the theatre where he was defeated. This includes not being able to leave a combat situation (as that in itself is a combat move). The defeated party still gets combat movement in the other theatre. Only the victor keeps the ""Resolve Combat"" phase on the board where he won. However, this phase becomes optional. The victor may choose not to resolve combat in a territory or sea zone but leave a group of mixed forces in that space. In this case, ownership of the space does not change. The victor must resolve combat if he moves into an enemy capital still under the enemy’s control. If the victor ever chooses to Resolve Combat then peace is broken and war resumes in that theatre (the game goes back to being undecided).* An Ally, if on the victorious side, may liberate an enemy-held capital without breaking the peace. The defeated power(s) may not use the Resolve Combat phase in the theatre where he was defeated but may in the other theatre.

  • It is still unclear what would happen if war resumes. That is, if the Allies hold Germany and then attack Germany, war would resume. But if the Allies still held Germany, how would the war and game end a second time? We’re working on it.

ENDGAME EUROPE

If Germany wins:

Japan gains 1 VP. This may cause Japan to immediately win the Pacific. The fallen power’s convoy zones in Europe immediately fall under German control. If the Allies win:

Japan immediately loses 1 VP. All convoy zones in Europe are immediately liberated from German control. ENDGAME PACIFIC

If Japan wins:

If India or Australia falls, then the UK does not get a combat move in Europe for the next turn only. All British Convoys in the Pacific fall under Japanese control. If Japan wins on Victory Points or if the USA falls, then the USA does not get a combat move in Europe for the next turn only. If the Allies win:

The Soviet player may remove all his pieces on the AAP board and the interboard and immediately place them in Moscow. All convoy zones in the Pacific are immediately liberated from Japanese control.